My First Supplement Review

For the first two years after I graduated from college I worked as a Store Manager for a supplement store.  While I was there I went through hours of training to learn about different supplements to become what they call “a certified nutrition adviser”.  It’s a fancy term for “I watched like 20 videos on herbs and amino acids”.  While working there I also took an ISSA Fitness and Nutrition Adviser course.  That one was actually very helpful.

Why am I telling you all of this?  Basically to give myself some credibility.

Alright, now that we got that out of the way, on to the review!  Yesterday I tried Beyond Raw Lit from GNC in the Gummy Fish flavor.  Them calling this flavor Gummy Fish is their way to not have to pay the nice Swedish Fish people any money becasue that is exactly what it tastes like (and i freaking love Swedish Fish).  This was one of the best tasting preworkout supplements I have tasted in a long time.

How well did it work?  Well, let me preface this by saying I am a preworkout junkie.  I started taking preworkout back in the OG Jack3d days (RIP) and I haven’t looked back since.  With that said, this product was…..ok.  The best part of this product is that there are no proprietary blends so I know exactly what is in this product.  Now for some nerd supplement talk…250 mg of caffeine, 3.2 g of beta-alanine, 1.5 g of creatine mono, 3 g of citrulline, and 1.5 g of fancy arginine, along with some extra filler ingredients thrown in.

What exactly does that mean, you ask?  Well they have given a good amount of caffeine for energy which I like.  They also added enough beta-alanine (the stuff that gives you the tingly feeling) which I was a big fan of.  What I don’t like was that they used creatine mono instead of HCL (my personal preference) and there was no betaine or agamatine sulfate for the pump (huge fans of both of those).  I could have forgave all of that but my least favorite part was the price.  $40 for 30 servings is a little steep for me.  There are much better products on the market for the price that you’re paying.

Ok so let’s review, shall we?

Taste: 9.8/10

Effect: 7.2/10

Price: 4.6/10

lit

Leave a Reply

