I will not be a part of the statistic

new-river-gorge

“West Virginia, Mountain Momma, take me home, Country Roads”

Wild and Wonderful.

Montani Semper Liberi: Montaineers are always free!

I love my state.  It is the most beautiful place I have ever been to.  The rolling hills.  The lush green forests.  Rivers cutting through the mountainside.  It is absolutely breathtaking.

I love my city.  It is such a fun, artistic, vibrant place to live!  There is always something going on in Charleston.  From live music at Haddad Riverfront Park to Art Walk on Capital Street to shopping at the Charleston Town Center, to just taking a stroll on the boulevard to the most beautiful capital in the US, you should never have to look very hard for something to do.

Nowhere is perfect though.  West Virginia is the second fattest state behind only Louisiana according to stateofobesity.com.  We are the second poorest state behind Mississippi according to Forbes. We are also number one in overdoses according to US News.

Not good guys!

We have to be better.  I refuse to be another statistic.  If this blog does nothing other than reach one person and inspire them to be better whether it is losing weight, or finding their passion and a way to monetize it, or if I can be there to talk to someone to help them with an addiction then this blog will be a success.  People in WV have too much pride in themselves and in this beautiful state to let ourselves be last place in any terrible category.  I mean you can’t go anywhere in the world without meeting one person who notices your WVU hat and tells you they are from West Virginia as well.  You know why that is?  Because the people of this great state have pride.  If you meet someone from Ohio they will tell you they are from Cleveland or Columbus.  If you meet someone from Texas they will tell you they are from Austin or Houston.  Not West Virginia.  You could be from Charleston, Huntington, Morgantown, Bluefield, Matewan, Poca, Hurricane, Sissonville or wherever else in the state; when someone asks you where you are from the answer is always West Virginia!

Show that pride in your life!  Lose a few pounds, start your small business, finish your college degree, do something!  Be proud of who you are just like you are proud of where your from.

I’m sorry for this long rant but I needed to get it off my chest.  If anyone out there in the internet would like to talk or has a comment or wants to tell me I’m and idiot and wrong feel free to leave a comment below or send me a message via my other social channels linked below.

Cheers.

twitter.com/boozeandbarbel1

https://www.facebook.com/Booze-Barbells-1901273320132745/

https://www.tumblr.com/blog/boozeandbarbells

https://www.instagram.com/boozeandbarbells1/

Leave a Reply

